Her Excellency The Right Hon. Dame Patsy Reddy GNZM, QSO
The Hon Sir Douglas Kidd KNZM

Sir Douglas Kidd KNZM, LLB is a barrister and solicitor and former partner in a Blenheim law firm. He is a member of the Waitangi Tribunal and is also a Wellington District Licensing Commissioner. He entered Parliament in 1978 as MP for Marlborough and retired at the 2002 election. He served two terms as a front bench Minister in the Bolger National Government and was the first Speaker of a House elected under the MMP system. He served in the Royal New Zealand Artillery (Territorial force) and much later was the Honorary Colonel of the Canterbury Nelson Marlborough West Coast (Infantry) Regiment for six years. He is also the National President of the New Zealand Institute of International Affairs.

vice president
Emeritus Professor Rob Rabel
Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) (VUW)

Emeritus Professor Roberto Rabel is a Professorial Fellow at the Centre of Strategic Studies at Victoria University of Wellington (VUW). He is a Senior International Adviser for VUW, having recently retired as Pro Vice-Chancellor (International Engagement) after 10 years overseeing the University’s internationalisation strategies and activities. He holds a BA Honours degree in History and International Politics from VUW and a PhD in History from Duke University, where he studied as a Fulbright Scholar. From 1986 to 2006, Professor Rabel taught in the History Department and then held management roles at the University of Otago. He is the author or editor of over 40 books and articles, including an official history, New Zealand and the Vietnam War: Politics and Diplomacy (2005). He is National Vice-President of the New Zealand Institute of International Affairs. Professor Rabel has previously chaired the Advisory Boards for the Centre for Strategic Studies-New Zealand and for the Victoria Institute for Links with Latin America. He was also a member of the Advisory Board for the New Zealand Centre at Peking University and held management responsibility for Victoria’s Confucius Institute. Professor Rabel holds a Medal “For the Advancement of Vietnam’s Education Cause” from the Vietnamese Government and the “Bene Merito” Medal for services to Poland abroad from the Polish Government.

Executive Director
Mrs Maty Nikkhou-O'Brien

Maty Nikkhou-O'Brien is the Executive Director of the New Zealand Institute of International Affairs. Her mission is to stimulate curiosity in world affairs in New Zealanders of all stripes. Since joining the NZIIA in August 2015, Maty has focused on reaching out to new more diverse audience through dozens of initiatives: panel discussions, seminars, books and articles. This has led to a marked uptick in attendances, media coverage, conversations, and connections. Maty is the first woman leader of the Institute in its 82 year history. Prior to the NZIIA, Maty founded and directed Diplosphere, a successful and innovative think-tank. Maty has also led EU-funded projects in Paris and negotiated international trade deals between French and Middle Eastern businesses. Maty’s main interests are the international relations of the Middle-East, conflict resolution, economic diplomacy, Iran and US foreign policy. She is the author of various articles and a French book on Maoritanga and speaks French, English, German and Persian and has some knowledge of classical Greek and Maori. Maty holds an MSc in International Relations from the London School of Economics and degrees in Languages and Political and Socio-Economic Studies from the Sorbonne and in Iranian Studies and Philology from the French Institute for Oriental Studies.

Emeritus Professor Athol Mann CMG

Emeritus Professor Athol Mann, CMG is the Treasurer of the NZIIA a post he has held since 1999. At the young age of 21 he became a partner in the accountancy firm that underwent several mergers to become eventually KPMG. During this time he served on the council and was president of the NZ Society of Accountants, he was the first New Zealander on the Council of the International Federation of Accountants, was a member of the New Zealand Securities Commission for seven years and a member of the Medical Research Council. While working in New York Athol Mann was approached in 1987 to become Dean of Commerce at Victoria University of Wellington, a position he held for ten years. Along with his academic achievements Professor Mann has an outstanding record of community service. He was the inaugural chairman of the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and a founding director of Te Papa Museum. He has served on company boards and is currently a director of the NBR NZ Opera. He chairs the Health Sponsorship Council and is a director of Barnardos NZ. He was awarded the CMG for service to the accountancy profession, the arts, and the community.

Dr Ian McGibbon ONZM

Dr Ian McGibbon has been managing editor of the NZ International Review since 1981, as well as a member of the NZIIA's standing and research committees. A graduate of Victoria University of Wellington, he was an historian with, successively, the Ministry of Defence, Department of Internal Affairs and the Ministry for Culture and Heritage from 1971 to 2013. His published works include the 2-volume official history of New Zealand's involvement in the Korean War, the official history of New Zealand's combat and other operations in Vietnam, a history of New Zealand's involvement in the Second World War and the Oxford Companion to New Zealand Military History. He has also edited several volumes of diplomatic correspondence and published guidebooks to Gallipoli and the Western Front. Since 2009 he has been New Zealand's representative on the Joint Historical and Archaeological Survey of the Anzac Battlefield at Gallipoli. In 1997 he was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to historical research.

Mrs Tina van Erpers Roijaards

Tina is a versatile person with a background in political science from Victoria University of Wellington and previous experience in the voluntary service (education and event coordination) and in administration at the Bank of New Zealand. Tina values working in an environment with high work ethics and has a great interest in other cultures.


Chairman of Research & Publication Committee

Dr James Kember


Standing Committee

Mr Nic Keating
Mr Don MacKay
The Hon Dr Wayne Mapp QSO
Mr Stuart McMillan
Mr Simon Murdoch CNZM
Mr Calvin Pleydell
Dr Negar Partow
Ms Suse Reynolds
The Rt Hon Sir Anand Satyanand GNZM QSO KStJ
Ms Tricia Walbridge
Mr Andrew Wierzbicki

Mr Reuben Levermore - MFAT Representative
Dr David Capie - VUW Representative
Mr Brian Lynch - Chair of the Wellington Branch


By Invitation

Dr David Capie - Director, Centre for Strategic Studies, VUW